2017 NSW Billiards Championship - Club Marconi

Congratulations to Michael Pearson on winning his fifth NSW Billiards Championship and joining an elite club to achieve that milestone. Michael took out the three hour final 761-613 over 13 times NSW champion Joe Minici. It was the eighth time the pair have clashed in the final of this event with honours now shared four apiece. After leading narrowly at the halfway mark, Michael stepped up a gear in the final session to record the highest break for the event - a 190 - to take control of the match. He had seven centuries in all for the event to Joe’s four. 

The semi-finalists were Grant Meadley, who led Michael by around 200 at one stage and looked a good winning chance, and Todd Hayward who fell to Joe by 55. Special mention to Grant who was playing in pain following surgery earlier in the week. Todd (129) and George Chammas (104) also recorded centuries over the weekend. 

28 players contested the event with good representation from the Central Coast, the Illawarra and Bathurst, including father and son duo Terry and Denzel Nicholson. Steve Cowie once again did an excellent job as tournament director.

The Championsip was generously supported by first time major sponsor Terra Civil - one of NSW's leading specialists in Civil Works, Excavation, Haulage and Waste Removal services - and Club Marconi who continue to be a great supporter of billiards in NSW.

NSW Billiards Championship - 5 time winners’ club:

Joe Minici 13
Les Hayes 9
Arthur Bull 9
Les Manglesdorf 8
Phil Tarrant 8
George Shailer 6
Jim Collins 5
Keith Lord 5
Frank Harris 5
Michael Pearson 5