2018 NSW State Minor Snooker Championship

This years State Minor Snooker was again played at Toukley RSL on the central coast. This is the 8th year for the Minor Snooker at this Venue. Toukley is a great location for a weekend away and some competitive snooker. The club has a great friendly atmosphere and of course excellent facilities. The 6 Toukley tables are a terrific test of Technique and Temperament.  60 players entered the tournament from areas all over the state.

Sebastian Zhang took out the Title this year, defeating Michael Cosh 3-0 in a wonderfully entertaining display. The final can be viewed on youtube Billiards and Snooker Videos courtesy of Neville Moore, thanks Neville.


Sebastian marched into the final with a 3-0 victory over twice runner up David Liu, however the score line is a bit deceiving with David losing all 3 frames on the black ball. Sebastian didn’t have it as easy in the early rounds getting through two 5 frame encounters against Jeff Farrugia and Chris Neloski. Jeff having survived his own 3-2 against Andrew Samarjia, and Andrew surviving his 3-2 against Josh Lawrence. David had come through a tough group defeating Tim Ng in the last 32 and Rob Elsley in the final 16. Having a slightly easier game against Mal Winter in the Quarter Final.

On the other side Michael was playing some great snooker only losing 1 frame until the final. Michael defeated David Hunter in his semi, David in turn putting in a great performance knocking out Jom Wangta in the Quarters and is a player to watch.

The highest break award was taken out by Steve Jay with 65, Steve played very well to defeat Chris Todd.

Overall it was a great tournament with a quality field and as usual all games were played in great spirit, the random draw gives a chance to open up the chances for players. Thank you to all the players for supporting the event, and a huge thank you to the referees Neville Moore, Warren Ackary, Stuart Tait, Joe Galea, Al Fletcher, Alex Ansen, Len Wicks, Gareth King , Ron Eyles and assistant tournament directors Stuart Tait and Diana Ackary

Thanks again to Club Toukley Rsl, Members and staff who welcome us back every year and Alan fletcher along with Toukley Rsl Billiards & Snooker Club.

Please check the bsansw.com or the absc.com.au website for your next event.

Until next time enjoy your snooker. 

 David Waller