3rd time's the charm for Lou Lou

ACT’s Lou Lou Siharath has won the 2018 State Women’s “Minor” Snooker Champion following the successful staging of this year’s event at Club Toukley RSL.

Lou Lou has been runner up in the previous two years of this event. However, all that changed over the weekend of 16th – 17th June following her winning performance in the time-honoured State Championship.

Lou Lou played very consistently throughout the weekend, displaying solid all round skills and thoroughly deserved her spot in the final.  Finishing 1st in her round robin group, and then winning her quarter final with Central Coast local, Kerrie Spindler, and semi final with Toukley local Marion Dale, without dropping a frame.

Lou Lou maintained her composure, going on to record a 2-0 victory over a very gallant Donna Crouch.  Donna was a tough competitor all weekend, defeating Sydney’s Ingrid Winter 2-1 in their quarter final, and Toukley local, Karen Smith 2-0 in the semi.

Many thanks to all concerned at Club Toukley RSL, with 2018 marking the 10th consecutive year that the Women’s ‘Minor’ Snooker has been hosted and sponsored by this particular club.  The club remains a great supporter of our sport at all levels.    

The Women’s “Minor” Snooker Championship is a traditional stepping stone for women to become more involved in the game at a tournament level. With support and encouragement to try the ‘Minor’ format they soon see it can be a fun experience and not as daunting as first thought. This was the case once again this year with all players enjoying themselves and the event continuing to prove popular with spectators over the two days of competition.

Special mention to first-timer, Morgan Mobbs, making the quarter finals in her first women’s event! It’s encouraging to see new players coming through with such passion & determination.

With the assistance of current players and supporters, it remains the aim of Snooker & Billiards NSW Inc to continually seek and encourage increased participation in women’s snooker.       

Many thanks once again to the club’s Board of Directors, management, staff and members for their ongoing hospitality and highly valued support.  Special thanks also to the Billiards & Snooker Club committee, President Marion Dale, and referees Alan Fletcher and Joe Galea.  

Carlie Tait

Tournament Organiser