Ryan Thomerson Wins 2017 South Pacific Open Snooker

Ryan Thomerson has taken out the 12th running of the annual South Pacific Open in its modern day format. Thanks to Club Marconi and particularly Jim Ruisi and all the boys from the Marconi Snooker Association/Club for their continua led support for this event and their ongoing support of Billiards & Snooker in general. Their love and enthusiasm for the game keeps the game alive. As Jim always says, keeps the dream alive.

Club Marconi boasts one of the best Billiards rooms around, recently renovated and with all the tables freshly re-covered, it’s the smartest looking room and the tables are a pleasure to play on. Why not get down for a game and some traditional Italian Pizza with your friends.

Also a huge thank you to Neville Moore who has put the live streaming computer gear together at his own expense, so we can enjoy the snooker at home and there was some fantastic games to watch. 

Click here where you can see all of Neville’s videos

Don’t forget to subscribe to the page when your there. Also David Valvo from YOUR FINANCIAL FREEDOM has been our sub-sponsor for the live streaming. Thank you Dave, Dave’s motto is work because you won’t to not because you have to. 

The tournament attracted 77 entries for the first National ranking event for the season and it was going to be a big weekend.

A round of games was played on the Friday night with no surprises apart from the winner of local boy Vic Sacco & Nima Alizadeh leap frogging into the last 32 as our 3rd seed former Australian Champion Charlie Chafe ringing in with a fractured Ankle. Saturday games kicked off at 9am and with 8 sessions to complete leaving the club before midnight was touch and go. Some notable performances came from, young Denzel Nicholson taking a frame of Glen Wilkinson after losing a close first frame. Michael Sharp was in good form in his first game only to be stopped in his tracks 3-0 by a very much in form Ryan Thomerson making breaks of 93 & 61 to outscore his opponent 225-36. Ying Jin took Ryan to a fifth frame, but Ryan with breaks of 47, 42, 56 & a 63 in the final frame proved too strong. Michael Hough was looking good with wins over Paul Ng 3-0 & David Liu 3-1, and in the last 16 against Ryan, Mick make a 63 in the first frame, only for Ryan to bounce back with 98 & 104. Jom Wangta was in great form, the former 6 red state champion defeating Paul Thomerson former Australian Masters Champion 3-0, and was 2-1 up and 50 ahead against Joe Minici only to bow out 3-2. Joe ran into Ryan next and after a close first frame Joe was left scoreless in the next two. Sankar Maharajan showed a lot of class to push Glen Wilkinson in the last 32, Sankar had earlier defeated Hassan Kerde with a solid display having been on the brink of a 3-0 loss in his first game. Glen was in good form with wins over an in form Chris Todd 3-1 and George Neradilek 3-1, George making the quarters for the first time. However Glen came up against Ryan and Ryan continued his outstanding form to book his place in the final. In the top half Number 1 seed Shaun Dalitz was cruising into the Quarters with breaks of 79, 52 & 40. Justin Sajich who was also cruising having made breaks of 93, 72, 58 & 47, despatching former South Pacific winner Alan McCarthy along the way. Shaun def Justin in an extremely high class match with Shaun making 138 break in the final frame, either player could have won. Rob Elsley this year’s Australian Masters runner up defeated Brett Watson this year’s NSW State runner up in the other Quarter final both players in good form throughout the event with Rob just too consistent in the end. Unfortunately for Rob, Shaun proved too strong in the semi and booked the other place in the Final. But it was Ryan’s day making an 82 break in the first frame, with Shaun levelling at 1 each despite Ryans 55 break, Ryan proved a worthy winner running out 4 frames to 1. 

Thank you to all the players who entered the tournament and we hope to see you all next year, thank you to all the spectators and every one at Club Marconi. 

Thank you again to all the referees and especially to Stuart Tait our nuts and bolts man. Thanks also to Jeff Farrugia who helped out during the day. Next Tournament is the Bob Hawke AC Australian Snooker Championship at Mounties.


David Waller