Joe Minici Wins His 12th NSW State Billiard Title

20 players contested the belated 2013 NSW State Billiard titles held at Mounties for the first time in the event history. We had a great attendance of spectators on the Saturday and the great facilities and number of tables at Mount Pritchard allowed players to have plenty of match play. 

Conditions were very tricky at first with players coming to terms with the BSANSW’s brand new pro cup spotted balls which are very shiny and slippery at first. This is the first time we have used these balls at this event as they have now been adopted by the WPBSA , IBSF and ABSC governing bodies. 

The field consisted of 5 groups of 4 players with the top 2 of each group advancing to the knockout stage of the event and the other 10 remaining players contesting a plate event. 

The final round of the group matches saw the seeded players contest for number 1 and 2 spots in their groups. Number 1, 2 and 3 seeds Joe Minici, Vic Cravino and Michael Pearson won their last games comfortably to top their groups. Number 4 Seed Ron Tulloch had a very close match against central coat player and Recent NSW Minor grade champion Adam Fitzgerald winning by only 30 points. Number 5 Seed Todd Hayward was looking comfortable with 20 minutes left in his match against Grant Meadley until Grant made runs of 73 and 58 to with by 40 points and top his group. 

With 10 players qualifying the top 6 players advanced to the last 8 whilst the other for players battles for the last 2 spots. Adam Fitzgerald defeated George Chammas. George knocked in a 116 break early but could not maintain his momentum. In the other match Roger Farebrother and a very close win over Hassan Kerde. 

In the last 8 Todd Hayward created an upset as he eliminated local favourite Ron Tulloch. Vic Cravino saw off Grant Meadley whilst Michael and Joe made light work of Roger and Adam respectively. With the semi finals it was a repeat performance from the very experienced Joe and Michael. Joe totally dominated the table time against Vic Cravino and Michael certainly had the edge and run of balls against Todd Hayward. 

The final which was played in 2, 1.5 hour sessions produced some quality play with Joe gaining the tournaments highest break of 135. Michael trailed at the interval by 200 points and came out firing in the second half with a quick 98 break. But Joe had all the answers with another 100 break. Michael could not bridge that first session lead and claimed his 12th NSW State Billiard Title. 

Tournament Director Grant Meadley thanked Mountie’s, the 2 referees on the weekend Neville Moore and Bill Springett. The players for assisting in marking duties as well as keeping to the tight schedule on the Saturday. After the tournament presentation concluded Life Member Geoff Williams was introduced to make a special presentation to Joe Minici who at the 97th BSANSW AGM was awarded a Life Membership for his contribution to cue sports in NSW.


Grant Meadley
Tournament Director